25/365 Pace Oddity

25. If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

I’m a sucker for technology. Whenever I see a new Apple product commercial I get a tiny rush of giddiness. I love that an iPhone gives you the control to slow down time or to rush through it by the simple choice of a camera feature. On a screen we see the manipulation of something that we always want more of, time. And while our phones can’t grant more of it, it lets us relive a moment a second after it happens.

I was going through my phone and I have exactly one slow motion video. It was from this past summer when my parents and I were driving up Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park. It was the perfect day. If WordPress would cooperate I would upload the video but it appears that I have to rely on the written word instead.

I remember thinking that I wish this drive would last on a continuous loop until I was ready to let go. Just a never ending scene of sunshine spilling over mountains with a peak of the ocean in the background. I guess technology ruins those moments because now you can live in the scene over and over again, but in the digital world. Just forget about being present in the moment all together and grab the picture. Those are always the type of people would tend to bug me while traveling. The been there, grabbed the picture and will immediately forget why they were taking it in the first place.

When I was in Europe I didn’t travel with a camera. One reason being that I didn’t want it to make me another target of theft, and partly because I didn’t want to spend all my time looking at sites from behind the screen. Of course I still had the magical iPhone but I was even cautious about that too. On one excursion in the south of France I opted out of carrying my phone all together when visiting Calanques National Park. Again I was nervous about it being stolen while being in the water or falling off the cliff side.

As I walked further into the park I cursed my decision  as I was overwhelmed by every turn we took down towards the water. Without my phone I had to solely rely on my eyes, and it made me that much more appreciative of my day there. Plus, I can always google it.

It seems as if it’s those moments I wish to slow down. The adventures I’ve taken, and so I could stand in that park or sit in that car a little while longer. But since I don’t have that sort of power, and Hermione isn’t lending me her time turner any time soon I’ll have to settle for the digital world. It’s a balance. Learning when to capture the moment, and when to sit and let the moment capture you.

 


 

Day Twenty-Five

Feature Image: Julien Douvier

 

One Reply to “25/365 Pace Oddity”

Leave a Reply

