10/365 Friendship in the Cosmos

10. Friendship: Write about being friends with someone. 

My friends from college are some of the people I’m closest to today. They are a group of women who know more intimate details about my life than any one person should. After graduation, like most group of friends, we scattered all over the world. Most of us went back home, which for one of us meant Canada, and another friend began a teaching job in Japan. There isn’t one day that passes where I don’t think of something or see something that reminds me of one of them, and because we live in an age of technology I can tell them about it.

A friend of mine who lives in St. Louis is someone who I jokingly refer to as my life partner. Our texts are just long, open-ended conversations that at some point we get to during the day. As I was thinking about the friendship prompt last night I came across an article in The New Yorker talking about the short film, “We Can’t Live Without Cosmos.” After watching the film, and admittedly shedding a tear, I sent the link to her.

“I couldn’t watch the movie because the piano score made me weepy, and then I read the description and it was basically my feelings on life right now.” If you’re a sap like the two of us are then you will probably walk away feeling weepy too. The short film is about two childhood friends who train together side by side in order to achieve their dream of going to space.

There is no dialogue in the fifteen-minute film, just a collection of beautifully simplistic moments that will make you smile, and reach for a phone to call up a close friend. Friendship can be forged in the big moments as you work side by side with someone, but it is often in the small details such as sharing a laugh that solidifies a connection that can last for a lifetime.

 

Konstantin Bronzit is the creative mind behind “We Can’t Live Without Cosmos” and his work has landed him an oscar nomination. I haven’t even watched the other nominations, but I’m already rooting for this one to win. It’s a lot more than just a space mission, or two friends, which is what Bronzit pointed out to Joshua Rothman in the New Yorker article. “It’s about loneliness. About the very close links between people. About our inability to live in human society without exiting, sometimes, to a different area, an open space where we can really breathe deeply and freely.”

Rothman talks about the contradiction that exists in the film between having deep friendships and also taking a journey into the unknown by yourself. I think this is an extremely relevant idea for people, and for me personally it really struck a cord. In college I had this network of people all going through the same experience as me and in a moment I could be talking to them in person. We resided in an environment that nurtured deep relationships and come graduation day we went out into the deep void, known as the real world.

All of us are on a similar path but with different goals in mind, and different destinations that we want to reach. My friends are a text message or call away, but on some days it seems the distance is much further than that. As much as I miss their comforting presence, I know that this phase of my life that I’m embarking on by myself is necessary. It is even necessary to disconnect from the world for awhile. But even in those moments where it feels as if I’m floating in the cosmos alone I know that they will reach out a hand and pull me back.


Day Ten

 

 

 

 

3 Replies to “10/365 Friendship in the Cosmos”

Leave a Reply

