6/365 Eye Contact

6. Eye Contact: Write about two people seeing each other for the first time.

The first time I saw him it wasn’t exactly love at first sight. His eyes were brown and droopy, and even though it didn’t seem like he would be my type I thought I should at least get to know him. I mean, that was the reason I was there in the first place. I was there to find a good companion.

The way he looked at me was hopeful but there was pain in his eyes as well. You could tell that he had been through a lot in his past, but I remember thinking that everyone must have been through something if they ended up here. His gaze shifted from me to those around us, and despite my obvious interest in him he remained quiet. The more I looked, the cuter I thought he was.

At first glance the droopy eyes made him appear older, but after taking a loop around the venue I found out from someone who worked there that he was younger than what I originally thought. “Do you want to meet him?” The question caught me off guard and I found myself starting to feel nervous. “Yeah, I would.”

“Ok, well I’m a little busy right now, but I’ll let you know when I’m ready.” I had enough of the noise from the crowded main room so I headed out to the lobby to wait. I kept thinking of his eyes as I sat on a bench and went over the concerns in my head. What if he didn’t like me? What if he didn’t fit in with my family? What if he wasn’t house broken?

“Ok, Brooke I’m ready for you.” I watched her approach him from the other room and suddenly the very quiet guy, who I saw earlier, came to life and started to run for the door. “He’s very excited, as you can tell,” remarked my own personal cupid. When I saw his tail wag and face light up I knew this was the dog for me.

Yes, this is the tale of the first time I saw my dog at the shelter. Normally when I see a dog (and I’ve seen a lot of them during my biweekly trips to the pet store) I instantly fall in love with them but Peanut was the exception. My mom and I have dreamed about having a dog ever since our husky died when I was away at school. Once I graduated, besides getting a job, finding a dog was my next biggest priority.

I knew I wanted to adopt one from a shelter and I had spent weeks looking at the pages of petfinder to find a suitable match. Peanut’s picture never came up and when I pointed him out in person at the shelter my mom went, “Really?” Peanut is a four-year old beagle and those beagles tend to have a pesky reputation of being very chatty. But once we got to play with him outside of cage my mom fell in love too.

Sometimes you can’t trust your eyes. You have to take a second look to see what a dog, or a person has to offer. I have made eyes at a lot of dogs, but luckily I was waiting for the droopy eyed one named Peanut.

Peanut 6_365.jpg


Day Six

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: eye caught via photopin (license)

Leave a Reply

