4/365 Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

4. You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

I’ve always related change to the sensation of ripping off a Band-Aid. If you do it quick enough it will only hurt for a second, but then it’s done. Most of the changes in my life, that I can think of, have been this way. They have been quick, and while sometimes painful it was better to take action all at once.

The biggest change that I’ve actively participated in over the last few years was transferring colleges after my freshman year. Obviously, this change had a few steps but the decision to do it took all about five seconds to commit to. I’ve always been a happy person, filled with positivity and for the first time in my life I didn’t really feel like that person. I was living close to home, was still in contact with my closest friends from high school, but I looked at the place where I was at it my life and knew change was necessary.  I ripped off the Band-Aid.

 

That is the kind of change that I like. The type of change that I have control over. But since that decision the need for change has still remained easy enough to recognize, it is the follow through that has become increasingly more difficult. Go figure.

Ripping off a Band-Aid doesn’t really suit me any more. Now the journey to change is more like cooking a meal without a recipe. And any one who knows me can attest to the fact that I suck at cooking, nor do I like the process. Each week I try and put in different ingredients but the result never tastes quite right. It’s no longer a quick action, a sure thing. It is a slow process where I feel like I might starve before I get there. We want the take-out equivalent of change. Something that is simple and good.

With the Band-Aids and cooking aside I’m learning that lasting change is based on your commitment one day at a time. That is what this blog is supposed to be about. The commitment to write. Every. Single. Day. The change from thinking I’m a writer to actually practice putting thoughts down. The decision to do it was quick, barely felt a thing. But to continue is an experiment that will sometimes yield less than satisfying results.

Change is scary, and when you get older and have more to lose it is even scarier. The adult world is a high risk game that no one gives you the rules to. But to change means to grow, and whether it is the initial shock of ripping off the Band-Aid or the arduous task of cooking it is important to commit to what you do. Let this be a year of change for you and me. Sound good?


Day Four

 

photo credit: change your life via photopin (license)

Leave a Reply

